/ Contact Us / Site Map /

The Board

  • The Board is the governing body of HPMI and is responsible for all policy-making decisions
  • Meets four times during one-year term of office on a Thursday evening for 1.5 hours
  • New Board elected at AGM to be held prior to 31st March each year
  • HPMI provides specialist group funding for return economy class airfares for specialist groups' Visiting Speakers via College Representatives. Please contact the Secretariat for contact details of any Board member.
  • If you are interested in having a voice in the promotion and development of your postgraduate body by standing as a Candidate for the Board, please signify on your Membership form.
Chairperson Dr Chandrasekhara Padmakumar
Honorary Secretary Conjoint Prof Jeannette Lechner-Scott
Honorary Treasurer Dr Milton Sales, OAM

Election of Three Members practising predominantly inside the cities of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie:

Conjoint Prof Jeannette Lechner-Scott

Dr Chandrasekhara Padmakumar
Dr Dhan Thiruchelvam
Election of Members practising predominantly outside the cities of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie:

Dr John Goswell

Dr Greg McGrath 
Election of One Member practising in the Central Coast Region:
Dr Philip Godden
Election of One Member representing the Registrars, Career Medical Officers, Residents and Interns in the hospitals of the Hunter Region:

Dr Kathryn Kerr

The three Members of the Community:
Dr Shirley Schulz-Robinson
Mr Graeme Thomas
Nominations have been received from the following, to be their representatives on the Board of the Institute:


Australasian College of Dermatologists
Dr John Goswell Australian College of Remote and Rural Medicine
Dr Pragya Ajitsaria Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Dr Kate Thomson Bowe Division of Paediatrics, RACP
Dr Carolyn Hullick Australasian College for Emergency Medicine
Dr Milton Sales, OAM and Prof Dimity Pond Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
Dr Harsimrat Sandhu Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrists
Dr Catherine Dunlop Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists
TBA Royal Australasian College of Physicians
Dr Darrell Duncan Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators
Dr Greg McGrath Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists
Dr Peter Lau Royal Australasian College of Radiologists
Dr Adeeb Majid Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
Associate Professor Huy Tran Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

Professor Dimity Pond and Professor Marjorie Walker

Faculty of Health & Medicine, The University Newcastle
None Nominated Member of the Council of The University of Newcastle
Co-opted Members
Professor Dimity Pond and Professor Marjorie Walker Vice-Chancellor of The University of Newcastle, Professor Caroline McMillen And/or nominee
Ms Jane Gray Representative of Hunter New England Health Chief Executive, Mr Michael diRienzo

Dr Alvand Amiri

Dr Rohan Bhagwandeen

Associate Professor Shane Carney

Dr Peter Chong

Dr Paul Craven

Dr Doug Howarth